Strawberry Girl

My title makes me think of the book Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski…yesterday’s post about reading and all… Oh,  I loved going to libraries!  I LOVED the elementary school library!  I grew up in Council Bluffs, Iowa and we had to ride the bus uptown to the library because my mom didn’t drive.  Standing on the corner waiting for the bus was just part of my life!  Later we tried riding our bikes but it was a challenge cuz I always wanted to bring home more books  than I could carry on my bike!  Simple pleasures! Having children and home educating just made me love reading even more!  Decisions, decisions…stamp or read, stamp or read…hehe   To bad we have to sleep and eat!!!  So….what do you think of this warm gray background w/the cream card-stock and papers?  I wonder if I would’ve flunked art! hohohoho… I hated art in school…I could not do it! It was so frustrating because I was a really good student in every area except P.E. and art!  I HATED P.E.!   I really didn’t mean to get off on this! Here’s the card…

strawberrytop

27 thoughts on “Strawberry Girl

  1. Stunning, Just stunning! LOVE the warm grey you used. Your coloring is fabulous, and the background dp is gorgeous. So perfect for the Strawberry Queen. Magnificant…hugs…barb

  2. This is beautiful, Pam! Gorgeous colors and the warm grey looks fabulous! I LOVE the smell of libraries!! I can remember my mom taking me to the library when I was young and it was always such a joy. I walked in and looked at the old building with it’s HUGE high walls full of books. My mother instilled a love of reading in me, that I am very grateful for. Although I don’t have much time for reading anymore, it continues to be something I love to do. hugs!

  3. Oh Pam your Tilda is beautiful! I love how you colored her and the grey background looks perfect to me! Your DP is perfect your card is just stunning. I really love this Tilda I think she is my favorite out of this collection. Any way I know you can’t tell but I love your card!
    Hugs,
    Nancy

  4. Pam, what a stunning card…that paper is delicious and your little girl is colored so beautifully…just gorgeous!! Hope your weekend has been a nice one!! Hugs..Jacque

  5. You card is darling, Pam! I would have given you an A+ in Art! You did a great job!!! (Too bad stamping & coloring wasn’t a subject we could have taken. LOL)
    Huggies ~
    Sharron

  6. Your card is just stunning, everything coordinates so well. I love how you have combined two different nestabilities and the grey is so right for the background. This isn’t just a card, it is in my humble opinion “CardArt”.

    hugs,
    Diana

  7. Hi Pam! Your card is completely adorable! Love the vintage red and white!
    I feel the same as you about libraries (and now bookstores!) My mom was our elementary school librarian! When books came in, I got to see them first! A real love affair!
    Thanks for sharing!

  8. Hi Pam,
    Thanks so much for the kind welcome. I simply love your cards, the colours and your copic skills are amazing. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Have a wonderful day
    Jodie

  9. This is gorgeous!! Love the cute image and the pretty colors for her. I’m so happy that I’m not the only one who has trouble with the photos for red. It really can be so frustrating. =) Thank you for your sweet comments Pam!!
    Glad to have you here on the the team!
    Hugs
    Jodi =)

  10. WOW WOW. Pam, simply stunning. Red is such a hard colour, but you’ve mastered it. I just love everything about this card, the layout, the colours, the embelishments, …everything!

    Hugs.
    Norma

  11. You have made yet another adorable card!! The colors look terrific together, and your coloring is outstanding! I love the gray background — it’s very subtle and just right! There it no way you would have flunked Art!!

I love hearing from you! Thank YOU!

