Perfect Layers and Faber Castell Design Teams Blog Hop…

Welcome to the Hop!

_MG_7121-001

Well,  Tilda insisted on it being a ‘jump’!  hahaha

You’re going to be inspired by the Perfect Layers and Faber Castell Design Teams!  Hop through the list of designers and comment on their posts for a chance at the prizes offered… $50 in product from Faber-Castell and the set of three Perfect Layers rulers and the perfect Square, value $45!!!  The more blogs you comment on, the more chances to win! You have until midnight EST, on April 5th to complete the hop.

6a0134896f7ad2970c017ee906dd35970d-600wi

I used the Faber Castell Pitt Artist pens and the Stampers Big White Pitt Artist pen.  

I stamped Tilda on hot press watercolor paper with Ranger Archival Black ink, watercolored her by coloring the pens on my stamp a ma jig imaging sheet and picking up the color with a waterbrush.  I’m delighted with how easy it was and the look I achieved!

Skin – Light Flesh 132
Cheeks – added water to Pale Geranium Lake 121
Hair – Raw Umber 180
Clothes – added water to Magenta 133
I did go in and shade the skin and hair with the markers direct to the paper.  The brush tip is really thin and lends itself to details easily!

After I cut Tilda out,  I went around the cut edge with the black marker.  I LOVE it!  Good coverage and No bleeding!

_MG_7126-004

For the grass… this was fun!  I started with Light Green 171, making strokes for the blades of grass with the marker tip and then watercoloring a little under them with the scribbled ink and waterbrush.  Next I added Leaf Green 112 blades of grass and then Permanent Green Olive 167.  Awesome markers for blades of grass!

_MG_7126 - Version 2

I do have a ‘thing’ for little white flowers! : )   The Stampers Big White pen came in quite handy to add little dots to the patch of grass for flowers!   What a great pen!

I also made my own polka dot paper!   See the blue strip on the front… cute! Depending on how hard you push down,  is what size of dot you get!  The flower dots are teeny and the dots on the strip are big! Love it!

The Clouds are the Puffy Clouds die from Memory Box, edged with Tumbled Glass Distress ink and the ink blending tool.  Two EK Success Nesting punches for the sentiment… 1 3/8th in and 1 1/2 in.

copy-2011

You all know I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE  the Perfect Layers Tools! (enter code, ‘Sparks5%’ at checkout)
What a time saver!  Mat your creations in a fraction of the time it takes to get them even with a trimmer!  YEA!    I have the set of three… yes… it’s great to have them all!  You just never know when you’ll need them!  On my card today I have the 1/16th inch mat and 1/8 th inch mat.

HERE is a video tutorial I made using Perfect Layers Tools!  A few tips on it…  I cut standing up…works the best for me with the full size x-acto knife blade, #11 size.   I love the Fiskars fingertip knife… link below.

Here’s the inside of my card…I wanted to show you that the Perfect Layers Tools work for a random look too!  I had the piece of blue left but not the right size… oh well… use it, I told myself!  so I did! lol  Worked great to use the larger measurements on the rulers.  This is a 5  1/2 inch square card.

_MG_7127-001

So glad you stopped by!  I love sharing the coloring mediums and tools I love to work with!  I hope you’ll try these tools too!  You won’t be disappointed!

Here’s a list of the other blogs with posts for the HOP!  Enjoy! Comment and good luck!
(winners posted on the two store blogs on April 6th)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pam Sparks (me) 

Supplies I used on my card… 

B3548 Joy, F4302 Celebrate and C2874 Hope your wishes stamps are from Printworks Collection, HERE.

114 thoughts on “Perfect Layers and Faber Castell Design Teams Blog Hop…

    1. Hi Sheri – I had watched Julia’s video about them and was so excited! In emailing with you, I asked if you knew anything about them and you had them. I was so impressed with her video and how they worked… your encouraging words were good to hear! I fell in with LOVE them! lol

  1. What an awesome card! Before this blog hop I’d never even heard of the Perfect Layers tool! I’m definitely going to be looking for one to buy. I love what I’ve seen!

  2. I Love my Perfect Layers tool also (THANX PAM 4 TURNING ME ON TO THEM). What can I say about this awesome card except that “IT’S AWSOME”
    Hugz Tonniece

  3. I love it! So cute and colorful! Making your own polka dot paper is such a great idea! What a great way to use your scraps and change them up! I must have all of the Perfect Layers rulers! They are going to be such an asset to my crafting tool box!

  4. You are such an enabler when it comes to the perfect layer tools. I use mine, maybe not as much as you do. Very cute card. So “Springy”.

  5. Love this Tilda! So many great details went into this one! Great job. I just bought a set of the Perfect Layers rulers because I saw your recommendation on your blog!

  6. Wow! Your cards are wonderful!!!

    It looks like my name/ID will show up on this blog as “CC”. It will show up on some of the other blogs in this hop as Colorado Crafter. Hope that’s not a problem as far as being eligible for a prize since I am commenting on every blog in the hop. 🙂 Love these products!!!

  7. Wow, what a list of products! Tilda looks adorable, your coloring beautifully done. I am new to both products featured in this hop and have enjoyed all the tips along the way.

  8. First of all, WOW, this is a fantastic card!secondly, thanks for listing which pencils you used to created each part because it helps to see how the color comes out, especially with the grass. I love that you thought to use the white pen to create both flowers and polka dots, I never thought to try it that way, I always used it for journaling in my art jour al over layers, but this is another fantastic use. I have never had the pleasure of using any of Perfect Layers products, but after seeing what you created I certainly hope to win some to use! Thanks again for sharing.

  9. Sweet card! Amazing coloring, and the Perfect Layers tools sound fantastic! Also love the dots from the Stampers Big White pen…. gotta get one!

  10. Tilda is so cute jumping for joy. Beautiful card and coloring Pam! I just did some watercoloring myself a couple of days ago and had fun. I got my perfect layers years ago and I just love it too–would highly recommend this great product!

  11. I love your card! The colors are cheerful and fun. And I love how you made your own polka dot paper! Thank you for sharing and for listing the tools you used!

  12. LOVE LOVE your card. I just love the Magnolias stamps. Your coloring is wonderful I am going to become a follower as well. Thanks for sharing your inspiration and the chance to win great prizes.
    Linda K.

  13. I love your card. I love the way you colored the grass and added the little white flowers. Those are the little touches that make a card special!.

  14. thanks for the great tip on edging cutouts with the marker. that will make life so much easir for me. scissors and i have an ongoing debate. cute card.

  15. I love Tilda and you did a wonderful job coloring her with FC colors! I’m so happy to see a blog hop with these products, I love them all!

    Hugs,

    Carmen L

  16. Such a great Tilda card, love the cute little white flowers! I am new to the perfect layers rulers but I am now convinced that I need them! Keeping my fingers crossed to win!

  17. Your card is so cute and I love the colors that you used. The black layer adds just the right amount of drama, too. Gorgeous!

  18. Hi Pam, what a darling card! I love the grass that you created along with the tiny white flowers. I will have to check out the white pen. Have a wonderful day!
    Hugs,
    Suzan

  19. I had a fun time on your hop, or jump as Tilda would say : ) Love your card. Tilda is soooo cute. Thank you so much for giving us the chance to win!!!

  20. These are so cute and your coloring techniques are so beautiful. Loved seeing your finished cards! I need to look for the ruler and the tearing guide, two products I was unfamiliar with before this blog hop!

  21. I really like the perfect layers that you can get using the Perfect Layers Tools! And Tilda looks super cute!

  22. My goodness, had I not read your information, I would have assumed the coloring of Tilda was Copics. Those Pitt Artist Pens and the Big White are a must for me! Great card.

  23. Cute card ! The Perfect Layers tools seems the answer to my prayers ! Also impressed with how opaque the Big Brush White pen is.

  24. Thanks for showing great ways to use the white Big Brush pen. I’d never thought of that. The grass you drew is beautiful, as are the layered looks you created.

  25. Really cute card! Love your grass coloring and I would love to try the perfect layers rulers too! Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

I love hearing from you! Thank YOU!

