ATS Magnolia Challenge · cards · Distress Ink coloring · Magnolia · rubber stamps

Tilda with Straw Hat…

She is so precious!  I love her… wish I had time to take my photos over though… just didn’t quite capture her charm! boohoo! I will forever be trying to get better photos! ugh!

This is Tilda with Straw Hat from the Butterfly Dreams Collection!  I colored her with Distress ink refills on cold press watercolor paper.  The pattern papers are from the Stella Rose line from My Minds Eye called Mabel… they just…go together!  EASY! gotta love that!  whew!

I used the new Lacy Oval Nestabilites die to frame her and back stitched between the loops… can you see it? I also hand stitched and I’ll tell you what I’ve learned from trying this a few times now.  I emailed some bloggers but didn’t get replies or else their products weren’t in the USA.  So I will share what I’ve found from trial and error as you’ll see here!!! haha! I love to sew and hand sew.  It’s just therapeutic I guess.

  • Finally found the thread I like… Coats and Clark Button/Carpet thread.
  • pierce your holes with the needle you’re going to sew with,  then your holes won’t be so huge!
  • figure out the size of your paper with the ruler/tool you are going to use that has the holes guide for piercing in it… notice here that I didn’t do this and I have extra holes in a few places and had to cut my layers down…all of life is education…that’s my excuse and I’m stickin’ to it! : )
  • the other trick is keeping the pierced holes straight… gotta work on that! haha  But,  you’ll notice on commercially made items that their stitching isn’t always perfect either,  so go w/the charm of crooked! lol

To dye the seam binding,  I was in a hurry,  so I just cut off 3 yards (yes, I cheated and measured the nose to stretched out arm length way),  laid the cut length on my craft mat in a loose scattered pile and started pouncing on it with my Rusty Hinge Distress ink pad.  After I had ink pretty much on most of it,  I spritzed it with water to blend the ink but leaving dark and light areas.  Not sopping wet though.  Squashed it in a plastic bag to get it good and wrinkled.  Pulled it out and dried it with my heat tool.  Worked great!

Linking my Tilda card to the new German Magnolia Mania Challenge blog – Happy Easter!

Getting ready for stamp club this afternoon…looking forward to some fun with my stamping friends! Thanks for stopping by !

Here’s the links to the products I used on my card…

43 thoughts on “Tilda with Straw Hat…

  1. She is absolutely the most darling image! You have colored her beautifully, Pam, and girl, that stitching around the loops is so much fun!!! Will have to try that 🙂 Would be fun wrapping baker’s twine around as well! Thanks again for the constant source of inspiration you are to me! Hugs…

  2. OMG Pam ! this is drop dead gorgeous. Your coloring is divine. The colors are wonderful and I do love those papers. Your card is a dance of happiness and joy but I do believe it is going to a special young lady. Have fun at the birthday party.
    Hugs
    Sandy

  3. Okay – one more comment – well maybe two. I am always so disappointed with the way my cards look on the blog. Your card looks divine – I can’t imagine what it must look like in real life. I also want to thank you for all the helpful information Pam.
    Sandy Dehon

  4. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this card!!! The colors are so beautiful ~ don’t you just love those new paper pads of coordinating patterns/colors!? Your coloring is perfect! I’d be in heaven if someone sent me this card!!

  5. Another adorable creation from our sweet enabler … LOVE your coloring no matter which medium you use & so LOVE the way you’ve done the grass under her shoes. How do you get that wonderful look ??? Beautiful job on the dyed ribbon & those papers just go with this image so perfectly.
    Hugs, Janie

  6. Pam! This card is just beautiful! I love the warm colors of the card and the cool colors of the image. It is just so gorgeous! Your daughter will love it!

    XO,
    Chris Christensen

  7. Absolutely, fantastically, fabulous! You have such a knack putting paper together and getting your DI colors just right. This card is just so pretty and the layout is delightful. Love that seam binding…I have some that I’m hoarding…don’t ask me why!
    Have a super weekend,
    Hugs,
    Barb

  8. Hi Pam! I love,love this magnificently colored and showcased Tilda. Wow!!!! The papers are awesome….love the vibrant colors! This is an amazing card…..absolutely breathtaking!

  9. Oh this is too cute! I just got her yesterday and can’t wait to ink her up! Love how you did the grass, it looks wonderful!
    Hugs, Dena

  10. So glad I get to see these IRL! Blogs just do not do cards justice. Love the soft color of Tilda’s dress. Love that straw hat too! 🙂 Beautiful job Pam!

  11. Oh Pam, another FABULOUS card! Just love how you colored her..I am just getting ready to ink her up. Isn’t the butterfly collection too much? Oh jeez I loved every image in it!
    Rene 😀

  12. The card is lots better IRL. I loved everything about it. How did you get such a full bow. I looked at and couldn’t figure it out and forgot to ask.

  13. Hi Pam….Tilda is soooo cute holding her straw hat. You’ve colored her beautifully and love how you dyed the ribbon.
    Hugs from Indiana,
    Pam:)

  14. Like Myrna and Linda, I’m so glad we get to see your cards IRL. Love that ribbon and the papers–oh, and your coloring, of course!

  15. Yes you did capture her charm Pam!!! She is sooo cute! And beautifully colored I might add!!! Like your tips on the sewing! Love the look. I keep thinking I’ll try the sewing machine, but never get to it! Another gorgeous creation from the Master!!!

  16. Adorable!!! Bought the same paper and can’t get myself to cut it yet!!! Have to see it awhile longer!!

  17. Wow, Pam, this is gorgeous! you’ve used one of my fav paper pads and an amazing stamp! I love them both and the combination is just amazing! Love the layout and your fabulous coloring , always perfect!
    Love it all!
    Hugs, Iulia

  18. Another gorgeous creation Pam! Your coloring is amazing, so you aren’t just a master of the Copics but of Distressed Ink too! You’re so talented, girl!
    Love the MME papers and your crinkled ribbon is awesome!
    I’ve wanted to tell you for some time now how awesome you are at running a challenge, the ATS Magnolia Challenge is the best! I love all your linking to product and then how you showcase the winner and couple of runners up! Your love and caring for it really shines through!

  19. Oh what a gorgeous card Pam! I think you captured the beauty of this card perfectly, she’s adorable! How many years did you say you’ve been coloring with DIs, LOL! Girl, you’re already a master, your coloring is GORGEOUS!!! Love the DPs you used, your beautiful ribbon–everything! Another lovelovelove card, wish I could see all your work IRL! Have a great Sunday Pam!

  20. OH wow I hear you on taking photo’s! But we’re our own worst critics cuz I didn’t think there was anything wrong with this!! Your card is GORGEOUS!! I love this color combo and the ribbon is very pretty too. Hugs!

  21. Oh what a stunning card Pam! Love the colors and fabulous papers! Haven’t seen this image used very much and I love how you’ve colored her! She is lovely! hugs, Angela

  22. Pam, this is utterly adorable—and darn, this is one Tilda I don’t have!!! Needless to say she is awesomely coloured. I gotta learn how to do the grass!!!. Your DP’s are beautiful—loving the combination of colours there. Oh geez, now I’ll have to see what seam binding I can find in my stash–I’m sure there are some…LOL. Thanks for all the inspirations.

    Hugs,
    Norma

I love hearing from you! Thank YOU!