cards · Distress Ink coloring · Memory Box · Poppystamps · Spring · Techniques · Watercolor

Memory Box Harrington Butterflies and more…

Pam Sparks Harrington Asti

So happy with how soft and sweet this card turned out. Sometimes you just need a soft, sweet, thinking of you card.

I die cut the Harrington Butterflies die in black cardstock and in watercolor cardstock.

To get the solid butterfly and body parts, I used the Asti Butterfly Wings die. (body cut in black)  The Asti Butterfly Wings die cut stays attached to the card at the body but you can easily clip them out or cut them in a piece of cardstock, positioning it each time so that it comes out directly in the negative space left from cutting out the Harrington Butterflies.  (do the die cut template thing)  I know, I should make a video of it! hehe

On the Memory Box Co. website it says the Harrington Butterflies die works with the Darla Butterfly die.

Pam Sparks Harrington Asti Close

I love how this card turned out.  A little Distress ink watercoloring…Tumbled Glass on the base panel, Squeezed Lemonade and Picked Raspberry on the butterfly wings.  Where the two meet, it kinda makes an orangish/coral like color.

The sentiment is from the Springtime Bunnies stamp set.  I glued on 3 Pretty Pink Posh clear sequins.

The next card is the same Harrington Butterflies die combined with a few others.

Pam Sparks Harrington Zimmer Calla

I started building on an A2 kraft color card-base, added a 4.25 in. x 5.5 in. white panel that I die cut with the Zimmer Oval Background dietopped with the Calla Oval Wreath die and Harrington Butterflies dieI used the Asti Butterfly Wings die again cut in watercolor and black cardstock.

Pam Sparks Harrington Zimmer Calla Close

This time I watercolored the butterfly wings with Picked Raspberry and Shaded Lilac Distress inks and a waterbrush.  I sprayed out some pearl shimmer spray on my craft mat and painted it on the wings after the watercoloring dried. Carefully because it will remove color.

I die cut the Calla Oval Wreath in white cardstock, left the cut in the die and embossed it through the Big Shot.  Leaving the cut oval in the die still, I turned it over to the back side of the die and added Distress inks through the holes in the die, coloring the flowers.

I embossed the sentiment from the Ornamental Butterflies Stamp set on vellum with Versamark ink and Detail White Embossing powder.  I added some baby pearls to the flower centers. A flower garden! lol

Linking both my cards to some challenges…

Dies R Us Challenge – Butterflies

CAS Mix Up Card Challenge – stamping + die cuts + your choice

Thanks for stopping by today!  It was fun to work with some Memory Box/poppystamps products again. More to come…

26 thoughts on “Memory Box Harrington Butterflies and more…

  1. These cards are absolutely beautiful. I have the Harrington Butterfly, but never in my mind could create and design these cards using beautiful colors and techniques as you have done here. I definitely will try to attempt to make one of these cards. I’m so inspired. Thanks Pam for sharing your talents.

  2. Oh Pam these are both stunning! I love the look of the black overlay on the butterflies! I wouldn’t think to do that, but it’s absolutely gorgeous! The second card is so pretty with the delicate lattice background and wreath of flowers!! Love them!

  3. Spectacular Pam – absolutely beautiful!! in love with how you colored these – a must try for me!! xoxo

  4. For some reason, my first comment didn’t post… I love both of these cards especially the second one! I love the pop of color on both of them and the diesare just gorgeous . More temptation because of your beautiful cards. Ha ha

  5. Your butterfly cards are so beautiful! I love the delicate and intricate designs, along with the colors and 3D! Wow! Beautiful work!

  6. Love both these cards, Pam, so,pretty! I love butterflies and haven’t used them in an age! You are such inspiration, thank you!

  7. These are both so beautiful I’m kinda swooning! Took me a while to get back here because I followed your link to see the Darla butterfly. But you’ve shown some amazing versatility here. And the lattice oval combined with the oval wreath — wow!

  8. Oh my, Pam, both of these are gorgeous! I love the soft watercolor and the dainty butterflies! And that lattice is awesome behind it all! Thanks so much for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up!

  9. Two gorgeous butterfly cards Pam. The first is CAS perfection with the die-cut layered butterflies with watercolouring for mixed media. The second is so beautiful with all your layered die-cuts to create the most beautiful garden. Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up! xx

  10. Two stunning cards Pam, have these dies, they really are marvellous. your blending is so soft and pretty and the panel behind the butterflies m mm. Very eye catching.

    I’m interested if you have time to respond how did you get the link to acknowledge two cards from the same post. I have tried that and found it kept coming up with error- you have already added link???

I love hearing from you! Thank YOU!